Durban Boat & Lifestyle Show 2016

All Images By: Al Nicoll Photography

The day after the Gateway Durban July Fashion Preview is meant to be spent resting and in bed right?

Not this year, this year we had things to do, people to meet and places to go baby!

Oh the luxury! When Al Nicoll and I arrived at the Point Yacht Harbor, here in Durban, South Africa. The festivities were already buzzing. The bay was full of beautiful, big, and small luxury boats.Yachts of all different sizes, shapes and character were on show. The show ran from the 24th June to the 26th June 2016 and of course being mid winter, Durban did what it does best and brought out the sun.

It took us about 40 minutes just to get in the front door, as Al couldn’t help snapping photo’s before we’d even got inside. I knew then it was going to be an interesting day.

0014_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0007_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

As a traveler I have always been fascinated by the luxury boat lifestyle. There is a certain prestige attached to owning or travelling by yacht, boat or catamaran. I mean I could talk about luxury cars, bikes, and planes all day with you, yet there is still something “untouched” and “mysterious” about the lux boating lifestyle. The exclusiveness the openness, being out there out on the big blue sea with nothing but you and your boat between you and the ocean.

0310_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

And while that can be a daunting thought for some, it’s an adrenaline rush for the rest of us. It’s travel in its true form. Crossing “the narrow seas” if you would have it.

Here’s my first tip. Don’t go to a boat show in heels or shoes you have to take off every five minutes. Lol, in fact just get an amazing pedicure and go barefoot! You can’t wear your shoes on deck which is something that completely slipped my mind.

None the less when I started getting jealous of Al climbing all over boats and curious about what they truly looked like inside, off went the shoes and the adventure begun! Now as mentioned I can sit with anyone and discuss super-cars, muscle cars, and self “pimped” cars all day long. I can talk about detailing till the chickens come home to roost! So obviously when I stepped on deck I had some idea of what to expect, but was still blown away.

In future I shall just call these vessels, water floating mansions, to put it lightly. How do you not live on your yacht when you own one? The only time I would leave mine would be to go island hoping, hiking and mountain climbing.

Whether its a view from the top? 

0195_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

Or a view from inside?

0121_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

Or better yet a view from the lunch table out on deck? 

0124_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

They are all view’s you want and need in your life. The detail in the upholstery, the dials and handles, the floors, the bedrooms. It’s just amazing, dedicated and creative when you think of how little space one has to work with.

0156_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0163_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

Al and I walked around for hours, discovering all the stalls selling merchandise and the various boats and yachts on show and for sale at the harbor. While walking around I noticed that the crowd at the show were incredibly diverse. Maybe its Durban being true to its nature of being the most diverse city in South Africa, or maybe everyone just decided they had to come down for the day? Either way I saw everybody at the boat show, there wasn’t a race, gender, age group that was left out of the activities. And I think that’s pretty awesome!

Community events are incredibly important to our cities and towns, not just in regards to international tourism, but actually getting our neighbors, friends and families interacting with each other. It’s “our event” it gives us a sense of community, of friendship. So thumbs up to everyone who came out and supported each other and all the local brands who took part in showcasing.

Like this guy, we found him while walking between some of the boats. At one point, while  Al was sorting out his camera lens, he looked up and saw this remote controlled yacht quietly sifting between the lanes, leaving quaint ripples on the waters.

Here were these huge sails, decks, hulls and sterns and then this guy comes along grabbing all the attention 🙂 It was stunning and very interesting to watch. I loved how focused the driver of the vehicle was and how beautiful the remote controlled vessel looked among its bigger brothers! The moment itself reminded me of lyrics my dad used to sing when I was a child “He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother”.

0110_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0112_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

There were also some interesting vendors at the event, I ran into the crew from Vespa! And what fun that was. The team explained to me that they do free Vespa training and showed me two of their vehicles on site. In fact I even sat on them testing them out for size. I love riding  motorcycles but I have never been a fan of scooters. I’ve always thought them far more unstable and risky? Now, I am  curious about doing some training with the team at Vespa! Who know’s maybe we will do just that, watch this space!

0036_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0047_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0046_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

As the afternoon started cooling and the sun started moving through the bay a little quicker, we went on a hunt for interesting finds. First we found ourselves at the Yamaha tent!

0072_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0082_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

After that we were back in search of the amazing details on various vessels! When I say we found some serious attention to detail what I mean is….Al managed to once again beautiful capture amazing details. 

Anyone feel like going for a drive? 

0181_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0203_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0182_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

All hands on deck then? 

0326_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0295_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0344_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

Maybe just a little guidance and relaxation then? 

0331_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0223_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll0222_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

The show in itself was beautiful, well laid out and entertaining. All the hosts on board the boats we met were friendly and helpful with information. As the sun started setting and boat owners sat down for an afternoon glass of wine, discussing between themselves the days activities, we started saying farewell to the beautiful machines before us.

We really wanted to explore the Madness 3 but were informed that viewing was via exclusive booking only. One could see why when you look at the beauty below. Costing in the region of several million, it stood proudly on the water.

0252_Durban Boat Show 2016_Al Nicoll

I will most certainly be at the Durban Boat & Lifestyle Show 2017. 

One thing I would like to see a little more of us local made in SA merchandise and maybe some live music? Although this year’s MC was quite the laugh! P.s. I still want to know where my doughnuts are?

If you would like to contact Al or I, in regards to working together on your next big event, media launch, show, or anything really, please fill out the form below! 

And As Always…

You can find Al Nicoll & CeecesTravel on all our social media platforms: Snapchat, Twitter, and Instagram at @Alnicoll and @ceecestravel

#LoveAndTravelHugs©

Cee

 

 

One thought on “Durban Boat & Lifestyle Show 2016

  1. Hello there! This blog post could not be written much better!

    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I am
    going to send this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read.
    I appreciate you for sharing! http://www.yahoo.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

