The IILovo Cafe Society Awards 2016

On Tuesday, 25th of October 2016, KwaZulu-Natal’s top coffee cafe owners and baristas gathered at the 2016 Illovo Café Society Awards at the Bellevue Café in Kloof.

I was honored to be invited as one of the VIP Media Guest’s and was really looking forward to the evening, not exactly knowing what to expect, which is sometimes a nice change.

pexels-photo-92019-large
The event that has been proudly sponsored by Illovo Sugar SA for the past 16 years, the awards are a collaboration between Illovo and the Sunday Tribune, who started the Café Society in 1999.

The awards have grown in stature and acclaim, and the Café Society stamp of approval have helped grow many independent coffee shops throughout KZN.

In fact during the event I learnt that even the judges of the event, actually  visit ALL the shortlisted venues in their own time. Which I think is pretty amazing. It’s great to see people being recognized for their hard work and honored for their talent, it’s good to give back.

pexels-photo-70221-large
The evening was beautiful, on arrival we were given freshly chilled fruit juice and then after which wine was on the menu, through out the event.

It’s always interesting for me being on “both” sides of the events and hospitality industries.

With a good career behind me in the industry and a new take on being in the industry digitally, I really enjoy seeing both old and new friends.

img_9219
Alec Collier, Ceeces Travel, Darren Maule
img_9205
Neil Coventry And Friend.
img_9202-2
Inge Loker (snap,sizzle and cook) & Nicola Meyer (Run on Coffee)

This years winners through a few surprises my way and I am glad to say that it’s wonderful seeing some new faces on the scene.

I think a little Coffee Appreciation is a wonderful event to be involved with. And let’s also mention the amazing food that we enjoyed during the evening. Thank you to the host venue for providing us with such delicious treats. And a wonderful take home, sweetie bag.

img_9225
Congratulations to all those who won awards and to all those involved in making it happen!

I look forward to visiting several of the venue, who were nominated.

Including the 1st Place Best of Region Winners: 

Tea @BayTree – South Coast Region
Terbodore Coffee – Midlands Meander 
Lineage Coffee – Hillcrest (Where Best Barista Personality, Kgune Dlamini works.)

pexels-photo-large

You can find more information on what’s happening in KZN by simply keeping up with me on my social media pages! The handle is @CeecesTravel on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Google +

If you’d like to work with me, please contact me by clicking this EMAIL link.

And As Always….
#LoveAndTravelHugs
Cee

 

One Reply to “The IILovo Cafe Society Awards 2016”

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours today, yet
    I never discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all
    webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you probably
    did, the net might be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

