Essence EATS – Foodie Heaven

All Photography By: Al Nicoll Photography

Besides the fact that I have managed to “roll” out of Essence EATS to tell this tale. I also want to tell you that I would do it all again. Just ask South African Chef Sherwyn Weaichy AKA The GourmetBushie.

“If I had it my way all the Chef’s that we managed to shoot would take turns cooking me dinner every night from now on. Wow. Talk about innovation. Ease. And most of all FLAVOR!”

The Essence EATS at this years Essence Festival was sponsored by KnorrKnorr and Robertson Spices. Both well known name brands in any South African household.

The Essence EATS were live cooking sessions so instead of having someone talk you through a recipe we were actually experiencing the event live. The Chefs presented quick easy to make and tasty dishes for those attending the demos. Most of us got to taste the dishes and asking questions was encouraged by the hosts and Chefs through out the event.

”As I was assisting my business partner with lightning I was really focused on getting in on what was happening in the pot and on the stove. And my eyes which were obviously bigger than my stomach were keenly set on exactly that”.

I noticed that several of the Chef’s created their own version of the traditional Shisa Nyama. Which I liked. Chef Charles Danisa who was visiting SA cooked up a lovely dish but my favorite part was the presentation of his creation.

img_9946img_9942

We were presented with so many beautiful dishes during the Essence EATS weekend its really hard to say that anyone’s dish was better than the other because they were all so different.

I mean look at this second twist on the ever popular Shisa Nyama dish. I think this dish works well for someone who wants a lighter meal something a bit crunchier and fresher. The Shisya Nyama Salad!  And you can actually go and try this dish yourself at 8 Morrison Street in Durban South Africa.

So what if you’re not into your red meat? No problem Essence EATS had that covered too. How does seafood sound?

Well I can tell you it tasted amazing. Lol. What a dish! Just look at this:

img_0044img_0042

I mean really? Not only do I have a thing for seafood but the sauce and the taste and the crunch and texture of all the various elements to this dish were pretty amazing and innovative.

Oh and did I mention that International Chef Kenneth Temple was in town too? Kenneth MC’d some of the show as well as cooked up a mean dish in the process. In fact I may have seen a few ladies in the audience wink at our visiting Chef. *Giggle* I can totally understand. There is something about a man that can cook isn’t there just?


Yet ladies and gentlemen whats a good meal without a stunning dessert to end off with? Now while I may be a bit biased as Chef Sherwyn is from Durban but when you see and taste what I have nicknamed “ChocolateHeavenInATin” you will understand.

img_0041 img_0038 img_0037
Sherwyn who by the way is also opening a restaurant in Durban North. I will proudly say I will be at the front of the waiting line. It’s almost mandatory that Ceeces Travel and #WeaverBirdComms attend isn’t it?  Yes yes it is.

img_0040

So if you were at the Essence EATS and managed to try some of these dishes then I am glad you came out and supported these amazing Chefs. And if you weren’t I suggest you visit some of the mentioned venues!

You can catch Cee on all he adventures via: @CeecesTravel on Twitter (most active profile). Facebook. Instagram and Snapchat.

You can work with Al Nicoll and I by contacting us on THIS email address. Or you can follow our # on #WeaverBirdComms via twitter to follow our latest projects and adventures.

And As Always…….
#LoveAndTravelHugs
Cee

 

 

One thought on “Essence EATS – Foodie Heaven

  1. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up
    very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing taste
    has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

