Chef Sherwyn Weaichy Opens New Eatery!

All Photography By: Al Nicoll Ceeces Travel 

If you don’t know who Sherwyn Weaichy is you may know him rather as The Gourmet Bushie.

I know him as the guy that has a great sense of humor and makes me laugh out loud at every event we’re seated together. I have to prepare myself if I know that Sherwyn is going to be around. He has an amazing personality and most certainly brings the giggles to any and every event.

img_0040
Sherwyn like myself is an entrepreneur. It’s all about surrounding yourself with people who have a similar mindset in life. Someone who dreams it. Believe its. And goes and get’s it for themselves. And that is what Sherwyn has done his entire career.

I’ve always believed that you should, “Let food start the conversation, whether it’s that awkward first date or simply bringing family and friends together in a kitchen, the heart of the home.” -Sherwyn Weaich

When you sit at a table with us you may expect we have all been friends for years. Fact is we only met a few months ago at the Good Food & Wine Show 2016. Sherwyn was dishing out some amazing desserts and of course some naughty jokes to go with them. I always think what would happen if we had a dinner evening with Sherwyn and Dawn Dunn and Jenny Morris in tow? (Note to self: Organize this).

By the time Sherwyns Clover baking set was over we were all hands deep in tasters made up of home made scones blended with home made jam and topped with whipped cream! Like really? Nevermind the way to a man’s heart! Sherwyn had me at “would you like to try a piece?”.

Luckily for us we all exchanged numbers and Al and I got to know Sherwyn better and create the amazing friendship that we now have. I’m not so sure Sherwyn benefits out of this though as I keep sending him photo’s of EVERY meal I make or Al makes. Giggle.

Although the brilliant Masterchef 2012 Semi Finalist who I will have you know managed to bake a Bacon & Egg Soufflé on a Weber Braai! Invited us over a few weeks ago just before the OPENING of his amazing new eatery to try a few dishes.

al-nicoll-photography__026
Seriously? Look at that! Does it get any better? 

Yes it does….. 


Al and I went home with full bellies of delicious food and abs from all the giggles. On a serious note why should one visit Sherwyn’s new spot? Which is located at The Pearls in Umhlanga Durban North by the way.

With the passion to feed people good food, Sherwyn began his journey traveling across South Africa learning new cooking techniques and experiencing new flavours.

In 2010 he worked in the Presidential Suite as Beverage Manager for the FIFA World Cup with guests such as The Royal Monarchy of Spain, Matthew Booth as well as many actors and local television stars such as Ronaldo and Kaka, under the mentorship of Chef Markus Banziger.

“My love for the food began when I stood on my tip toes staring over the counter watching my mother cook for my family.” –Sherwyn Weaich

He later realized that food goes well with a few drinks, and so attended The College of Whisky in 2011 and was trained by Rynard Van Der Westhuizen, of Diageo Beverages.

Subsequently being involved in several invitation only events, placing fourth in the National General Mills Pillsbury Competition, whilst managing various Restaurants and Kitchens in Durban; most notably Czar, in Durban’s Tourist Hub, Florida Road.

With a thirst for more knowledge Sherwyn participated in Masterchef South Africa (2012).

And it is all highly evident as we discovered the below yesterday!

Great Coffee! A delicious Kudo Burger with hand rolled and home made bread. And lovely atmosphere! All ingredients are sourced or produced locally. ie no bad stuff!

Furthermore Sherwyn Weaich has worked on Ultimate Braai Master which currently airs internationally on the travel channel in more than 13 countries across 4 continents, eXpresso Show, etv Sunrise in addition to writing a weekly food column and online food blog with over 3.4 million readers, and 785 000 copies printed monthly.

A huge CONGRATULATIONS to Sherwyn and his team! We cant wait to come back and experience even more of your delicious meals. Thank you. 

Be sure to follow me on all my social media platforms. My most active being TWITTER. And then Instagram. Snapchat and my Facebook Page. All under the same name: @CeecesTravel. 

You can find AL Nicoll on his social media platforms under @Alnicoll for all platforms.

And if you’d like to work with us be sure to follow the#WeaverBirdComms on twitter to see what we’re working on!

And As Always….

#LoveAndTravelHugs

Cee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Reply to “Chef Sherwyn Weaichy Opens New Eatery!”

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great
    author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice evening!

    Like

Leave a Reply

