Afro’s Chicken Talks To Chico Muya!

In collaboration with Afro’s Chicken, and #CeeSummerLoves17, I interviewed, local musical legend, Chico Muya.

I met Chico at Splashyfen2016 and as they say, the rest is history. Chico has gone from strength to strength in Durban, KZN.

15823442_577331249122054_6212574474803042123_n
This morning, we were able to sit down and chat about where this musician is going, where he came from and why you should know all about him.

  1. What about music makes it your passion, makes it who you are?

    I find music is one of the tools we can use to break down barriers between people. Being able to create a connection with people when performing is essential to my performance.

    People open up when surrounded by music. As an expressive person myself, music allows me to be who I am on stage. It also help’s me, help other’s realize they’re in an environment where they can be themselves.

  1. How long have you been playing and singing for?

    I actually started playing around with the guitar between 2010-2012, then I got a bit more serious about it and by 2014 I was performing full time. Strangely I actually started playing guitar before I started doing vocals. I am fortunate enough to play with Spencer Pratt on stage occasionally. We have a really good vibe. 

  1. What was your most nervous experience on stage?

    The first time I played for a crowd bigger than a thousand people, was at the botanic gardens. There were suddenly 2500 waiting for me to play. From the first strum of the guitar though, I knew I would be just fine. I was home.  

  1. What has been an event highlight for you in 2017?

    2017 is big for me. I have been in the process of making plans to expand in Southern Africa for the last 3 months.

    It’s an entirely new venture, of being in Capetown. With my family around the world and friends in Durban.

  1. What’s your favorite Afro’s Chicken meal?

    Half & Half – Tjips and Chicken
    AFROS-160

  2. 6. Where can we catch you play next?

        25.03.17 – FITS

  1. What’s your latest album called and where can we buy it?

    Love & Other Things – Online stores, itunes, spoitify, basically all the online app stores, should have it. 

  1. If you could change one thing about the South African music industry what would it be?

    Venue’s. We need more venues. And more people coming to watch us play, in those venues. Durbanites need to back their artists, we’re small and we only have each other, but the support in Durban needs a boost. 

  1. Does pineapple go on pizza?

    Yes! I’ve been watching masterchef, and apparently it can go on everything. Lol

  1. Where can our readers find you on social media?

    Catch me on the following….

    Instagram: @chico_muya,
    Twitter: @chico_ray
    Facebook: Chico Muya Music
    Website: chicomuyamusic.com

Thank you so much Chico for chatting with me. I for one am truly going to miss you. You have really made a mark on the Durban music scene and brought awareness to many other artists here who you’ve worked with.

Hopefully we will see you at FITS – Fun In The Sun March 25th 2017

Cee

 

 

Leave a Reply

