Lukas Graham & The Sirens

Lukas Graham & The Sirens….

I knew I was going to write about this single within 12 seconds of listening to it for the first time. The dark, but story telling setting of the music video sprung to life. Graham in a hospital bed, and then the familiar sound of a good single.

The sirens. I had to rewind and listen twice to make sure I hadn’t made it up, but alas soon found I was correct. I then went and checked the other 2 singles I love by two different artists. Yup! Both Ed Sheerans “Give Me Love” and Twenty One Pilots “Heathens” start off with the distant wailing of sirens in the first 15 seconds or so of their videos.


By the 1:47 mark in the video, your heart strings and inner feelings have been ripped out and laid bare on the table. No words need to be said, the pure emotion of the actress staring at Graham from her fictional front porch is enough to send ripples through the tides of emotion. That common feeling “You’re Not Alone” that lights a match somewhere within your somewhat damaged but loving and hopefull heart.

pexels-photo-277017
I’m going to call the woman with the umbrella, Anxiety, at least I see it as a representation of that.

At 3:28 Graham reminds you, just why you think his lyrics are pure fire, because they are. I don’t know what it is about the way he lays down tracks, or composes his tone, but its very unique and sends home the emotion of the lyrics quite sufficiently. (I just had to look up how to spell that word, gosh!)

pexels-photo-164821

And then the fade to black. Such finality. The End.

All in all, I have no idea when I became a music video or song reviewer but, it seems I’ve written an entire post about Luke Grahams, Happy Home. If you haven’t listened to it yet, go give it a whirl.

Thanks Lukas for tweeting me this morning and letting me know you’ve dropped a new single. It’s good. I like it. It’s expressive, raw and untainted. I feel like humanity needs more of that at the moment.

Be sure to read some of my other posts, by visiting the HOME button and if you’d like to contact me, EMAIL me with all your questions, article suggestions, links and messages.

And As Always….

#LoveAndTravelHugs

Cee

Leave a Reply

